Games to lose yourself in during lockdown – The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim

Welcome back adventurers! This time I will be diving into Bethesda’s biggest franchise and my thoughts on this absolutely fantastic game. So grab your swords and pack your potions, because this feature takes us to Draugr filled tombs!

‘The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim’ was released in 2011 and has since had three definitive additions, and even a revamp for the Nintendo Switch. Skyrim is just one in a series of games under the title ‘The Elder Scrolls’ and was Bethesda’s most advanced in terms of graphics and story.

Skyrim Game Cover

This game follows the protagonist (created by you), as you escape from a dragon, who recreates the end of Dinosaurs’ Meteors, a civil war in which you end up thrust into dragons every time you decide to roam or you come face to face with a giant, every time you leave your house (I had to move because of that bugger).

With its very Nordic feel, you get to investigate a huge map, and one with adventure in every catacomb…and plenty of undead people! This will distract you so much, you will completely forget about the main quest and only remember when you are looking through the quest list.

In Skyrim, you can choose quite a few factions to join. Each holds their very own storyline and set of quests, which makes these games playing hours much longer than previous games. But, if you are like me, you will try and complete sets of armour, weapons and have chests crammed with about a hundred cheese wheels for absolutely no reason!

However, if action and adventure is your thing, then this game has it all, with caves filled with bears, mines controlled by baddies to sunken pirate ships and strange tombs filled with the undead. So overall, there’s plenty to kill!

Thomas the Tank Mods

This game comes on most platforms including PC, Switch, PS4 and XBOX One (and it used to be on the older consoles too). There’s also the option to add mods – you can turn the dragons into Thomas the Tank Engine, My Little Pony characters or even Teletubbies (I don’t know if they’re funny or just creepy, I’ll let you decide).

Here’s what I thought about The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim…

When I first played the game, I played it without knowledge of the previous game (which isn’t needed) and had no idea that a big dragon would try to kill me within ten minutes of loading the game…well done Bethesda. So, I spent my first couple of days running around trying to avoid dragons, which resulted in a lot of death and a lot of frustrated growls. However, after a few tries I finally killed the dragon and felt like I could take on the world…big mistake!

My first run through of the game was probably my hardest as I tried to horde everything and kept getting cumbered. It was a rather funny sight to see one hundred cheese wheels stored in a chest I never used again. Now I have more experience at the game, I tend to only take what I need and still have that room dedicated to cheese but more for nostalgia.

If you are anything like me then you will want to collect all of the armour and corresponding weapon sets as it does give you an achievement for it, and it’s so satisfying to know you have actually collected them all.

Room Full of Cheese

I have a copy of this game on all my consoles, and the novelty still hasn’t worn off of the game. So, if you want a game full of adventure, dragons and a very persistent mail man *shudder*, then hop onto the next boat to Skyrim and buy a copy from your local shopkeeper or travelling Khajit and I’m sure you will not be disappointed. As for me, I will be hiding and trying to get that rabbit!

So until next time adventurers…use a health potion and stay safe!

Words by Stacie Buckley

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.